I’ll Admit It. . .

I am a newbie when I comes to yarn other than acrylic.  My first experience with yarn was acrylic.  Everyone I knew used it.  What you mean you don’t buy yarn from Wal-Mart?  And then novelty yarns came out.  I was gifted with a lot and when it was on clearance for as low as $.36 a skein, who wouldn’t buy some right.  And then came the Internet.  I found other knitters through my homeschooling blog.  And from there I found Ravelry.  I found out that there was thing called a yarn snob and not only do they not use Red Heart yarn or Peaches n’ Cream cotton, but they use things like wool, merino (whatever that is), alpaca, and angora.  And they pay things like $25 (gasp) a skein for them.  And people actually hand spin their yarn.  I have seen some really beautiful yarns that way.  Now I have an Etsy shop that I haven’t really done much with, but I have seen some really awesome things come out of there.  The newest one that I found is from leeloosh.  I really like the violet meadow yarn that she has for sale right now.  Visit her shop and check out what else she has available.

Leave a Reply

