Challenges

I think it was around September that I decided to start expanding my skills and ideas of what to make.  I was getting tired of doing too many purses and hats.  So I have been giving myself challenges and entering some on Ravelry. The first one was actually something that I made myself.  It was my first time doing anything lacy.  I made it as a scarf to wear when I dress up and entered it in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy workshop where I got the  Improbable Award for Cheering Up Marvin.

For The Wheel of Time:  The Great Hunt Workshop, I got  the Classroom Fun award for a beautiful yellow hat.  BTW – this hat and the poncho were entered in the Ravelmpics and I got Bob awards for them as well.

I’ve been wanting to try knitting and crocheting with wire.  This next one was supposed to be a necklace, but was slightly too small, so ended up being a double bracelet.  Oh, yeah it was also for the March crocheted jewelry of the month group challenge.

I attempted the most gorgeous set of gloves.  Unfortunately this was not a challenge that I was able to complete.  The pattern was in charts which I had never attempted before and used wrap and turns, something else I had not done before.  None of my knitting guru friends were able to help me.  So I gave up after completing this much.

And the last one was for the Bag of the Month Group.  Our challenge was to take at least one hexagon and make a bag or purse out of it.  It was amazing what some of the others came up with.  They did a very beautiful job.


Leave a Reply

